I Won’t Give Up

I heard this song while watching a Korean drama (of all things). I liked the melody and the first line I heard caught my attention: “I won’t give up.” The first thought that crossed my mind was: I want someone to sing this song to me. But as I got to the line that says:

I see that you’ve come so far to be right where you are. How old is your soul?

I thought, “Hey, that sounds familiar.” And then the chorus started.

I won’t give up on us

Even if the skies get rough

I’m giving you all my love

I’m still looking up

All romantic thoughts flew out of my head. Suddenly, a girl who looks very much like me flashed through my mind. She was sitting beside me, wrapping a reassuring arm around my shoulders. She was whispering words of encouragement as I continue to bow my head. I was a picture of helplessness, but she was there, always. And together, we lifted our heads, soaking in the light of Glory and Mercy, smiling as we believe, as we hope, as we stand up and move on.

She was strength, she was hope, she was support. Hovering all the time, always ready to push when my feet refused to step forward. She builds a bridge from scratch for me to cross when I’m too scared to jump. She looks up from time to time and she makes sure I’m looking. She reminds me we’re not alone, she reminds me that He’s there.

She tells me I’m worth it, she tells me I’m going to make a difference.

She tells me I’m loved and whole. She tells me to be patient and good.

She’s my conscience, she’s my other half, she’s me.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,507 other followers

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
